Readdicted Review: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Standard
Warning:  This review may contain spoilers!  Not that big of spoilers at all, but Read at your own risk!

Title: Starcrossed by Josephine Angelini

Genre: YA Greek Mythology Paranormal Romance

Goodreads Summary:

Set on the island of Nantucket, STARCROSSED tells the tale of Helen Hamilton, a young woman whose destiny is forever altered when she meets Lucas Delos and tries to kill him in front of her entire high school. Which is terribly inconvenient, not only because Lucas is the most beautiful boy on the island, but also because Helen is so achingly shy she suffers physical pain whenever she is given too much attention.

Making matters worse, Helen is beginning to suspect she’s going crazy. Whenever she’s near Lucas or any member of his family she sees the ghostly apparitions of three women weeping bloody tears, and suffers the burden of an intense and irrational hate. She soon learns that she and Lucas are destined to play the leading roles in a Greek tragedy that the Three Fates insist on repeating over and over again throughout history. Like her namesake, Helen of Troy, she’s destined to start a war by falling in love. But even though Lucas and Helen can see their own star-crossed destiny, they’re still powerfully attracted to each other. Will they give up their personal happiness for the greater good, or risk it all to be together?

Rating: 5 Stars

Who were the Characters? 

There are two main characters in this book: Helen Hamilton (aka Helen of Troy) and Lucas Delos (aka Paris).  Honestly I had to look up some about Greek Mythology while reading this book, just to keep my facts straight.  There were also main side characters including all of Lucas’s family and Helen’s parents.  I loved Lucas’s family as a whole.  They are the kind of family that you see in movies that cooks big meals and eats them at the table together, laughing and just enjoying eachothers company.  It also sounds like the food is pretty good, so I wouldn’t mind jumping into the book at those parts to experience the food and family.  It drew me in as a reader and made me feel more connected to Helen as she experienced it.

The main character, Helen is not the typical YA heroine.  Just like in the stories about Helen of Troy, our Helen in crazy beautiful.  The kind of beautiful that makes other girls hate her.  Most YA female characters with this trait are all “oh, I don’t think I’m beautiful” or “oh, I’m beautiful, but I don’t notice it”.  Helen seems to just not care.  She is raised by a single father who values inward beauty, so that is Helen’s focus.  She actually dislikes the attention she gets from onlookers because it gives her these stomach cramps.  She also has a few, as they say, “special powers” like being stronger and faster than other people, but doesn’t seem to care that much.  She seems to just not care about anything that makes her extraordinary.  She just wants to feel normal.  Overall, I loved her character and connected with her.  I felt nervous when she was nervous, scared when she was scared, and in love when she was in love.

Lucas, was a very swoon-worthy character.  He may be in my top ten.  At first they hate each other.  And it’s not like Twilight or other YA books where “oh, I hate you or don’t like your smell so I’m gonna stay away from you”.  No, its “I wanna kill your stupid ass”.  They literally want to rip each other apart.  You will find out why in the book.  But the fact that this happens, makes their budding romance even more powerful.  He is a strong, protective, funny character.  All I can say, is Lucas can protect me any day.

What was different?

The main difference in the book I think is the protagonist Helen.  She is an easy to get along with as a reader and is very different, as stated above, than other YA females.  Her shyness in the beginning of the book from not caring about her extraordinary beauty and abilities grows into her owning both through the book.  She goes through a great character progression to a confident person.  This was great to see.  I very much think her confidence was also drawn out beautifully by Lucas.

The romance was also different.  Although it seemed to happen quickly technically, you as a reader don’t read it that way.  The swiftness of their attraction is so real and explained, that it couldn’t be any other way.  It was refreshing to not see a forced attraction between to YA characters.  I don’t think I have liked a romance between two characters as much since I read The Mortal Instruments about Jace and Clary.

What was similar?

Many people think that this book reflects Twilight in the boy meets girl, boy hate girl, boy and girl are attracted to each other, boy and girl get together fashion.  I can see how that can be similar, but for me it wasn’t like that at all.  I read Twilight, but am not a Twilight fangirl.  I thought the books were just okay, so I don’t have a biased opinion about this.  I honestly think that Starcrossed was a much better read, even though certain things could be predictable.  As a reader you could see the romance developing in this particular fashion, but in this case, I wanted it to!  I just kept wanting more moments with those two together.  Totally not Twilight.

Where was the setting?

The setting was in beautiful Nantucket.  GOSH.  I would love to go there.  Reading this book was a delight just for the setting.  I would love to visit the coast there.  The only thing that could have made this book better is if I was able to read it there, on the beach, diet pepsi in hand.  Ok, maybe a lemonade would look better.

When did this story take place?

This story took place during the now, so it is a contemporary book.  There is a lot of historical parts in it as it explains out a lot about Greek mythology.  Honestly, I didn’t really enjoy books about Greek mythology before this book.  I actually thought it was stupid and lame, but now I am seeking more books out about it, just because of Starcrossed.

Why did I like/dislike it?

I loved this book beyond anything.  I would rank it right up there with TMI and Harry Potter.  I devoured this book with NO BREAKS.  I took a few to pee and eat and stuff, but other than that I was stuck on the couch under my blanket.  Once I finished it and read the cliffhanger I was almost going crazy.  I gave this book five stars because I adored the main characters and all the side characters, the plot kept me going and going, and the romance was amazing.  There are some parts of this book I could go back and re-read and re-read.  This is definitely a book I will buy.  The second book has already come out, and I am only a few away from it on the waiting list at the library, so I am going a bit crazy.  I totally recommend this book if you love YA paranormal romance, but are getting tired of the Twilight copycats.

Review by Connie

Leave a Reply

