Readdicted Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Standard

6304335-1

Title: Beautiful Creatures

Authors:  Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Genre: YA Supernatural Fiction

Goodreads Book Summary:

There were no surprises in Gatlin County.
We were pretty much the epicenter of the middle of nowhere.

At least, that’s what I thought.
Turns out, I couldn’t have been more wrong.
There was a curse.
There was a girl.
And in the end, there was a grave.

Lena Duchannes is unlike anyone the small Southern town of Gatlin has ever seen, and she’s struggling to conceal her power and a curse that has haunted her family for generations. But even within the overgrown gardens, murky swamps and crumbling graveyards of the forgotten South, a secret cannot stay hidden forever.

Ethan Wate, who has been counting the months until he can escape from Gatlin, is haunted by dreams of a beautiful girl he has never met. When Lena moves into the town’s oldest and most infamous plantation, Ethan is inexplicably drawn to her and determined to uncover the connection between them.

In a town with no surprises, one secret could change everything.

Rating: 4 Stars

REVIEW

This book either gets rave reviews, or tanked reviews.  I’m completely convinced it’s because some people don’t have patience.  Because when I started this book, it was hard to get into.  I liked the narration, I liked that it was from a guy’s perspective (even though I usually can’t get into books with guy narrators as well), I loved the language and the setting and how incredibly well written the characters were.  But it took awhile for me to get there.  At first, the characters seemed either cliche or flat.  And the drama just wasn’t enough.  Or too much.  Definitely one or both of those things.  By about the middle of the book, however, I was pretty into it, and I flew through the last bit.  Anyone that says this book is not well-written probably didn’t finish it or something.  It is different, but that is what I love.  I love love love different.  And I think a lot of people like what they like and don’t want to see anything different.

The book’s main character is Ethan Wate.  And then there’s Lena, the caster girl he falls for.  They have an unexplained connection.  Ethan’s best friend, Link, was probably the flattest character for me.  I felt like I couldn’t figure out his motives, or what he wanted, or why he was loyal and if that was really what he was.  At least at first.  There are a ton of supporting characters, and Amma is my favorite.  The character development is one of the best things about this book.

Because this book is written in first-person, and a pretty casual first-person at that, some details feel left out.  If Ethan knows something, it isn’t explained that well.  So some things I was just guessing, and later in the book or in the series, I realized I was all wrong in some of my assumptions.  No reader wants to feel like an idiot, so that’s where the star gets dropped.  There were a lot of questions I had, a lot of things that went unexplained and even unaddressed.  Things that if I was a character in the story, I would have said, “um, duh…what about this?”  But I was also aware that this is a series, so I calmed the heck down and ignored it the best I could.

I am well on my way into book three and so glad the fourth just came out last month.  I meant to read these by October, but the library gave me other books instead, and I ended up just getting the ebooks of them so I could read them now.

COVER

The font is fancy and fun, and yet still readable.  The author names stand out but don’t take away from the cover.  The background is BORING though.  Don’t get me wrong, I’m very glad there isn’t a girl with a flowy dress on the front, but the trees just aren’t creepy enough.  I would’ve enjoyed something more like the trees from the first Fallen book, but without the girl.  These trees just look like a negative image and they bother me.  I do like the purple of the font and how it stands out from the black, and I like how the cover is simple and not overdone.  So mostly good job on it.  It will catch your eye but not annoy you too much.  Can’t ask for too much more than that, but it isn’t art.

AWESOME FUNNESS

Here’s a link to the two trailers out for the movie that comes out early 2013.  Yeah, I’m so going to this movie!  Also, I want to know what that song is in the trailer…cuz holy heckles it gave me goosebumps!

3 thoughts on “Readdicted Review: Beautiful Creatures by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

  1. Very interesting! I knew nothing about the book (except that I’d seen it places) until I was the trailer the other day. I’m definitely interested in picking it up, but good to know that it may take a while to get into! I’ll try to be patient 🙂

Leave a Reply

