Readdicted Review: Beautiful Darkness by Kami Garcia & Margaret Stohl

Standard

Readdicted Reviewers

Title: Beautiful Darkness

Authors:  Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

Genre: YA Supernatural Fiction

Goodreads Book Summary:

Ethan Wate used to think of Gatlin, the small Southern town he had always called home, as a place where nothing ever changed. Then he met mysterious newcomer Lena Duchannes, who revealed a secret world that had been hidden in plain sight all along. A Gatlin that harbored ancient secrets beneath its moss-covered oaks and cracked sidewalks. A Gatlin where a curse has marked Lena’s family of powerful Supernaturals for generations. A Gatlin where impossible, magical, life-altering events happen.

Sometimes life-ending.

Together they can face anything Gatlin throws at them, but after suffering a tragic loss, Lena starts to pull away, keeping secrets that test their relationship. And now that Ethan’s eyes have been opened to the darker side of Gatlin, there’s no going back. Haunted by strange visions only he can see, Ethan is pulled deeper into his town’s tangled history and finds himself caught up in the dangerous network of underground passageways endlessly crisscrossing the South, where nothing is as it seems.

Rating: 4 Stars

REVIEW

This book was a great read, a good second book in the series.  It left me wanting to read more, and glad I could dive right into the third.  It was fast paced and there was a lot to keep me interested and I had a hard time putting it down.  But at some points throughout the book, I was disappointed with the writers’ ability to explain.  My biggest complaint is that yet again, as with the first book Beautiful Creatures, I found myself making a lot of assumptions.  I was also realizing that some of the things I thought were described one way in Beautiful Creatures were described differently in Beautiful Darkness.  This may have been my perception, but it is the author’s job to give the reader an experience.  If I have to stop and question anything, I blame the author.  Usually, it’s not my fault this happens.

What is amazing about these books is the amount of detail for each character, and for the setting.  The people come alive, and the town of Gatlin is like another character.  It is clear that the authors have experienced the South and have done their research.  The mix of a little history in with it makes me very happy as well.  I loved the introduction of the new characters and the further development of Amma and Macon and Abraham.  Spending so much time in the Tunnels didn’t take away from the richness of the story.  In fact, I loved the Tunnels in the first book of this series and I really wanted to know more.  Many questions were answered as well, while giving me more information in the story, they also raised more questions.  The story is building, not repeating.  The darkness in this series doesn’t infiltrate Ethan, which is why I love him as the main character.  I found myself so frustrated with Lena, and yet sympathetic at the same time.  And the ending made me salivate for the next book.  Again I loved the casual first-person point of view.  Instead of just hearing Ethan’s thoughts, I felt like we were conversing, and he was telling me this compelling story.

I am still not sure if these are buy-worthy…meaning hard copy purchase.  There’s something wonderful about having your favorite books all sitting together on a bookshelf.  So far, I have the ebooks.  They make it easier for me to read wherever I find myself, but at the same time, I am so ready to read a real book again!

COVER

Again the cover is lame.  I do love the font, and the purpose of the cover is achieved.  Readable author names, the title stands out, and the covers all tie together while still having an individual message.  This one shows stairs surrounded in darkness, and most of the book takes place in the Tunnels.  Still, there’s something so blah about the picture behind the text that makes me want to puke.  I do like the different color choices for the text…although……just wait for my review of Beautiful Chaos…..

AWESOME FUNNESS

Here’s a link to the two trailers out for the movie that comes out early 2013.  When I rewatch them, I get all excited and goosebumpy. Hooray!

Leave a Reply

